Why Christians care about gay Marriage

Or I guess the title could be why I, as a Christian, think other Christians care about gay marriage (still working on this what gives you the right to speak for Christians) From what I gather there are 3 schools of thought, some take a stand probably as a combination of these, possibly less “strongly” active in some or more areas.

1. God established marriage, so thus changing it into something which he didn’t establish as right (one man, one woman) is disrespectful to him and therefore should be opposed

2. The Bible preaches against Homosexuality and therefore Gay marriage (gay anything really) shouldn’t be allowed. Just stop doing what you are doing and become straight

3. Homosexual sex is a sin (along with fornication, adultery, lying etc.) once people establish themselves in that pattern of living, and make that their identity, they then, have either don’t think of it as sin (or just don’t care that) The “who I am offends you?!” gives them a distaste for Christianity and makes sharing the good news seem impossible. Even more so breaching the gulf and becoming a Christian.

Any guesses as to what school of thought I’m in? Yep the 3rd one (hence the long definition.) It’s a harder jump for anyone identifying as gay to recieve the gospel as whole when it condemns what and who they are and who they want to be. Either they reject the gospel as whole, or find a church that has translationized Homosexual sin to not be a sin (which I don’t agree with.) Here’s the issue, it’s all about identity don’t you see? It’s about receiving your identity in Christ and making that who you are. (Before you condemn me for being a hetrosexual married female preaching and not practicing, hear me out.) There are many “identities” I wear. Woman, creative, dog-lover, outdoorsy, frugal. I am many things but I am a follower of Christ first. If something I identified and labeled myself as, became a hinderance in obediance to God, I would cut it out. It’s not worth it.

Ok so my thoughts on the other 2 schools

1. Basically, marriage as it stands today isn’t really about God anymore. It’s become about tax breaks, descision making in times of trial or death and public commitment and/or a party. None of those things are bad, but back in the garden of Eden when God started marriage none of those things had any bearings, it was about unity. Plain and simple. So as long as Christian ministers and pastors aren’t being forced to perform marriage ceremonies for anyone with whom they don’t agree with. Then I don’t care who marries who. I don’t think God is more saddened by Gay marriage than he is by Kim Kardashian’s short (seemingly) sham of a marriage and her obvious fornicating ways.

2. I agree that Homosexual sex is a sin, however, I think that trying to stop gay marriage from being passed and trying to “scare straight” anyone who is gay is well, pointless. It’s a symptom of a greater problem. That greater problem is sin in this world as a result of us falling away from God’ plan for our lives. the symptoms are all over the place. in the media, in our broken relationships, everywhere. Focusing on this flambouyant sin in particular and seeming to ignore all others is like this

Matthew 7:2-4  For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye?

We need to work on our own sins, all the while loving our neighbor, speaking the truth in love and really try to be a light to this world. All the heated debates against gay marriage make that difficult. It’s hard to put into concise words sometimes as well. It’s presented like, Either you love us/support us/ believe in everything we do/ have no qualms or problems whatsoever or you hate us and want us to die or be exiled. um what? Do I get a third option? Can’t I love you and pray that you find your identity in Christ and he show’s you his plan for life, shows you what this whole struggle with your sexuality is all about while disagreeing with you that being gay is a-ok and right? Can’t I say that God isn’t smiling down on it but loving you despite it?

ok </ rant>

One thought on “Why Christians care about gay Marriage

  1. Nice post. I’m still new in Christ and trying to work out where I stand on this issue. This post was worded with love and respect and gave me something to think about! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

